Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual Cocktails With Director Neema Barnette

May 23 | 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm PDT

Neema Barnette
Neema Barnette

Neema Barnette

Join us for a very lively Memorial Day Weekend virtual cocktail party with trail blazing writer/director/producer Neema Barnette!  Make yourself something delicious, and join the WiM community for a delightful, relaxed party with one of the most prolific, well respected directors of our generation. Moderated by WiM Executive Director, Tema L. Staig. All genders encouraged.

Come early to socialize and dance before the interview. A Zoom link will be sent to all ticketed guests.

*Special bonus! We will be doing a live drawing at the end of the event for a director’s chair courtesy of our friends at Filmcraft! You must be a Women In Media member with a crew list profile, have a ticket, and be present to enter.  Fill out the form below.

3:30pm PST/6:30pm EST Pre-party

4pm PST/7pm EST Welcome and Interview

4:45pm PST / 7:45pm EST Audience Q and A

About Our Special Guest:

Neema has a long and well respected career directing television and film. Her repertoire is diverse, ranging in shows such as LUKE CAGE, A DIFFERENT WORLD, BEING MARY JANE, GILMORE GIRLS, BOSCH, BLIND SPOT, and the features CIVIL BRAND and WOMAN, THOU ART LOOSED: ON THE 7TH DAY.

Starting out as a young theater director, Neema was accepted into the Women’s Directing Workshop at AFI. She is the first African American woman to ever direct a sitcom, WHAT’S HAPPENING NOW. She made history again as the first African American Woman to receive a three picture deal from a major studio (Columbia).

In 2016 Neema was chosen by Ava Du Vernay and Oprah Winfrey to be Producing Director of QUEEN SUGAR. Besides directing two episodes, Neema trained the women chosen to direct, none of whom had ever directed TV.  In 2017 the 1st season of QUEEN SUGAR was nominated for A PEOPLES CHOICE AWARD & multiple NAACP IMAGE AWARDS. The series is now on its fourth season and has successfully advanced 37 women into the DGA who all now have careers directing TV.

Please be advised that all virtual events hosted by Women in Media may be recorded and distributed for promotional purposes. Your voluntary participation in such events authorizes and acknowledges Women in Media’s exclusive rights of ownership and use of all recordings.

Log in to reveal your VIP Member discount code

Venue

Zoom Call
Hollywood, CA
WiM LGBTQ+ Logo